Travis

Thursday, August 14, 2008
Frequency Festival, Salzburg, AT

Send this page to a friend

Pictures: 13 Upload Photo

Reviews: 4 Post Review
Ladybug Posted: 21-08-08 6:45
+1 Votes Login To Vote
Kismet, people, kismet... I start to not doubt it all so much any more.
That Thursday was really one of the most surreal days I've ever had, made even more surreal by the fact that, late in the afternoon, I bumped into Sir Michael Stipe in Salzburg city as I was rushing home from work. I was all annoyed that I was getting to the festival so late and worried about what I was still going to miss. Naja, alles ist für irgendwas gut.
Isn't it fab when you get the once-in-a-liftetime chance to meet one of your heroes and all you can think of to say is "I can't wait to see you guys live tonight"? "You guys"? Oh man.
Well...at least I was able to help him and his companions out and show them the way to Getreidegasse.

Anyway! I'm not good with reviews, so I'm just gonna say that it was a sensational show them lads put on. After some technical muddle at the beginning of the set (did I catch a "Have you quit, Giles"? haha), the show really took off and I think people enjoyed it immensely. Setlist was chosen very wisely. The new songs? Honestly...they knocked me flat. Long Way Down stood out, as did Song To Self...and Something Anything. As well as J. Smith. Roughly, I'd say those were my favourites out of the new songs. :p
I believe that for a lot of people, Travis were the unexpected highlight of the festival. Everyone I talked over the course of the weekend mentioned them as one of their favourite performances. It's funny how shocked people are, if a singer actually opens his mouth to talk to an audience properly. Being in the vein (and knowing how to treat a festival crowd) pays off.