Wednesday, March 10, 2004
Barfly, Glasgow, UK

View Setlist
Send this page to a friend

Pictures: 44 Upload Photo

Reviews: 4 Post Review
Fran Posted: 30-08-04 3:22
+1 Votes Login To Vote
Had a really long lie today. Ahhhhh. We met on the bus at 4pm and drove to soundcheck.

Tonight we are playing at The Barfly in Glasgow as a part of a nationwide effort to raise money for WARCHILD and SHELTER.

The idea was to get a bunch of big bands to go back and play gigs in really small venues. We rehearsed a version of Why Does It Always Rain On Me where I played the drums, Neilly played keyboards, Dougie sung, Andy played Bass and Adam played guitar.

It sounded very good. A little scratchy but good. Great fun. I am a frustrated drummer so was loving playing the drums, too much!!

Nora arrived today ? and was at the hotel when I got back. We had some dinner and then it was time to go to the show.

The idea was to jump on the bus and drive round to the venue and then go from the bus straight onto the stage and then after the show straight back on the bus and then away. And this is exactly how it went.

The show was brilliant. Made me think about doing more like this. We did a really small show in Norway at the end of last year and again had a brilliant show

The atmosphere last night was electric. Playing in these massive venues is one thing, I personally have a problem with the bigger shows.Like the bigger a band gets, the further away the fans get, literally. You get the sense that the band is ?up there? and the fans are ?down there? in these massive sheds, which goes against every principle we stand for.

But we do these shows because there is a massive demand for tickets in each city. If we were to fulfill the demand at venues this size we?d have to play 150 shows in each city and would be on the road for 10 years per album.

Anyways, we?ll definitely be doing more shows like this as well as the massive and the medium sizes.