Travis

Flatmate Rant
Moray
Moray Posted Wed 05 Mar, 2008 8:56 PM Quote
Since Lauren uses the board as a venting place for room mates, it's my turn!

I bought my flat I'm in and I've had four different flatmates, and the similarities between each person of how annoying being a landlord is and living with people can be is incredible.

Right, flatmate history - when I was at uni I lived with my sisters (no parents) in a flatshare, so I'm used to living with family. And I don't have brothers so maybe I'm unaware of typical 'guy' type traits that maybe I haven't picked up, since technically I only started living with blokes who weren't my dad after I graduated uni.

I've worked hard to make my place look pretty nice. It looks and feels like a home, and not a bedsit, not a student flat, not rental accomodation. But every person who's lived here treats it as if it were student accomodation that they don't give a fuck about. It's a basic lack of respect, as it's all my stuff here that they are renting off. Such examples are:

- Doing the dishes when they feel like, but never drying or putting them away. And never using disinfectant on surfaces

- Having no concept of what a hoover is

- Taking control of the channel changer, constantly changing channel, and never saying "Hey, do you want to watch this, or do you fancy watching something else tonight"

- having no concept of what furniture polish is

- Having no concept of what cleaning a bathroom is

- Not wearing socks around this house (This is a particular bug bear of mine. Why do I have to look at your feet all evening. Put a pair of socks on).

- Biting nails, sniffing, coughing. All the time!