Travis

American Accent
weirdmom
weirdmom Posted Fri 20 Jul, 2007 9:50 PM Quote
So here a question: what do you think of American accents?

When I was 16 I was an exchange student in Germany and everyone went seemingly out of their way to tell me how much they hated American accents, they were so ugly, blah blah blah. I felt like I perhaps should become mute and encourage my entire country to follow suit.

(sidenote: Did this stop them from watching American shows? Listening to American music? No.)

Anyway, fast forward to about 2 years ago when I was in London. Two guys told me they thought American accents were "sophisticated." I laughed and was pretty sure they were just saying that since one of them was hitting on me at the time. But it got me curious so the rest of the trip I asked various people what they thought and I mainly heard that they liked some of them but not all of them. Just curious to hear what the boardies here think.

Re: American Accent
AbsolutPurple
AbsolutPurple Posted Fri 20 Jul, 2007 9:57 PM Quote
sophisticated ???

LOL

weirdmom
weirdmom Posted Fri 20 Jul, 2007 9:58 PM Quote
I know. I cracked up. But someone else who wasn't hitting on me said something similar. I was shocked. To each his own, right?

Hanne
Hanne Posted Fri 20 Jul, 2007 10:01 PM Quote
To me, it's almost surreal actually speaking to people with an American accent. Basically, only people on TV have those accents. I know it sounds stupid but TV is my main source for listening to American English, hence the association when I hear it real life.

I can't say that it's ugly though; it kinda depends which accent we're talking about. It's not like they have the same local accents in New Hampshire and Louisiana.