Travis

Laundry Expert Needed
megg_inc
megg_inc Posted Fri 28 Oct, 2011 7:21 PM Quote
So I have this navy dress with white collar and just can't manage to keep the collar white! What should I do, any ideas?

I've tried soda and stain removers already.

Re: Laundry Expert Needed
minnmess
minnmess Posted Fri 28 Oct, 2011 8:07 PM Quote
Maybe this thread should be FAO Kaytepants.

Turtleneck
Turtleneck Posted Fri 28 Oct, 2011 8:35 PM Quote
Yes, I am an international laundry expert. Megg, is the problem that the blue from the dress is making the collar blue? Or is the collar just getting dirty/dingy? I need to know the nature of the discoloration before making my recommendations. ;o)

megg_inc
megg_inc Posted Fri 28 Oct, 2011 9:01 PM Quote
Dirty/dingy.

Turtleneck
Turtleneck Posted Fri 28 Oct, 2011 9:38 PM Quote
If you are dealing with what they call "ring around the collar" from the natural oils in your skin, you need a laundry degreaser. If you don't have any of that, try dishwashing detergent. It's made to remove grease off dishes, and usually it will work on clothes. Rub some degreasing detergent on the collar, add a little water and scrub it a bit, then let it soak. Then wash as usual. Try that and if it doesn't work, let me know. Good luck!

megg_inc
megg_inc Posted Sat 29 Oct, 2011 12:03 AM Quote
Dishwashing detergent! Wouldn't have thought of that! Thank you - will keep you posted!

minnmess
minnmess Posted Sat 29 Oct, 2011 1:09 AM Quote
Also good when you cook bacon in a silk dress. Smart!

Turtleneck
Turtleneck Posted Sat 29 Oct, 2011 1:40 AM Quote
You know...that reminds me that I want an apron. I always get all slopped up when I cook or bake. I should make myself a nice 50's housewife type apron.

mili
mili Posted Sat 29 Oct, 2011 11:27 PM Quote
Turtleneck wrote:
You know...that reminds me that I want an apron. I always get all slopped up when I cook or bake. I should make myself a nice 50's housewife type apron.